

MONTCALM COUNTY REPUBLICANS

P.O. Box 131 Greenville, Michigan 48838 <u>MontcalmRepublicans@gmail.com</u> <u>www.montcalmgop.org</u>

Building for the Future

2023-2024 Officers

Chair - Matt Murray

Vice Chair – Stephanie Rectenwal

Secretary - Lisa Coughlin

Treasurer - Judy Emmons

January 26, 2023, Montcalm County convention and regular meeting minutes

The County Convention of the Montcalm County Republicans was called to order by temporary chair Matt Murray at 7:00 pm at the Montcalm County Administrative building. Prayer was offered followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Temporary Chair Matt Murray Introduces the following Temporary Officers for the Convention: Lisa Coughlin – Secretary Judy Emmons – Parliamentary Shayne Becher and Ryan Flowers Sargent at Arms Glenda Neuenschwander and Steve Tugan as Tellers

Roll call of Precinct delegates by Temporary Secretary showed the following Present:

Matthew Buskirk	Matthew Murray	Judy Emmons
Jeffrey Williams	Brian Stevens	Coleen Stevens
David Prout	Kodeen Sowers	Michelle Jorgensen
Maxine Nauta	Lisa Coughlin	Kimberly Croy
Annette Mitchell	Lisa MacDonald-Clark	Stephanie Rectenwal
Kimberly Becher	Shayne Becher	Joseph Rykse
Bonnie Sutten	Steve Tanner	Steve Tugan
Jerry Fennell	Valerie Gates	Susan DeVries
Fern Jessop	Bill VanTil	Amy McCall
Linda Huckins	William Jaglowski	Denise Jaglowski
Sharon Davis	Caitlyn Flowers	Ryan Flowers
Kathryn Smith	Rhonda Bishop	Glenda Neuenschwander
AnnMarie Wubbeling	Kevin Murphy	Richelle Lintz

The following on the roll call were not present at the meeting (this list includes Delegates at Large):

Armon Withey	Tammy Sweeris	James Lower
Gene Lutherloh	Gerald Schmidt	Andrew Barnes
Molly Barnes	Brenda Silver	Philip Silver
Roger Humphrey	J. Scott Vukin	JoAnne Vikin
Mike Williams	Andrea Krause	Kristen Millard
JoAnne Vukin	Lori Wilson	Todd Sattler
Robert Brundage	S Michael Scott	Dale Linton
Ron Baker	Christopher Johnston	Adam Petersen
Scott Painter	Charles Mahar	Patrick Carr
Phil Kohn	Rick Outman	Patrick Outman
Graham Filler	Dawn Sweet	

Michelle Jorgensen made a motion to add Dawn Sweet to the roll call. Stephanie Rectenwal seconded the motion. Dawn Sweet added to the roll call.

Michelle Jorgensen nominated JoAnne Vukin moved from the precinct delegate list to the delegates at large list. Kim Croy seconded the motion. Motion accepted.

Roll Call accepted.

Motion by Annette Mitchell with second by Coleen Stevens to accept the rules - passed.

Motion by Richelle Lentz with second by Stephanie Rectenwal to accept the agenda – passed.

Election of permanent convention chair: Delegates unanimously voted for Matt Murray as permanent convention chair. Passed Chair Matt Murray Introduces the following as permanent Officers for the Convention: Judy Emmons – Parliamentary Shayne Becher and Ryan Flowers Sargent at Arms Glenda Neuenschwander and Steve Tugan as Tellers

Motion by Maxine Nauta with second by Stephanie Rectenwal to nominate Lisa Coughlin as permanent convention secretary. There were no other nominations and motion by Maxine Nauta with second by Stephanie Rectenwal to close nominations and elect Lisa Coughlin – passed.

Judy Emmons presented over the Oath of Office for all Permanent Convention Officers.

Motion by Richelle Lentz to elect Hard-Working Republicans, seconded by Kim Croy - passed

Motion by Michelle Jorgensen to nominate Cynthia Palmreuter as Hard-Working Republican, seconded by Kim Croy – passed.

Motion made by Kim Croy to vote for delegates to attend State Convention by slate, Michelle Jorgensen seconded – Passed.

The slated of delegates for February 2023 GOP State Convention presented by Kim Croy Michelle Jorgensen seconded the motion. – passed

The following were nominated to represent Montcalm County at the State Convention: Kim Becher Rhonda Bishop Shayne Becher Sharon Davis Sue DeVries Ryan Flowers Bill Jaglowski Denise Jaglowski Michelle Jorgensen Amy McCall Matt Murray Maxine Nauta Stephanie Rectenwal Joseph Rykse Kodeen Sowers Steve Tugan

Michelle Jorgensen nominated MacGregor Bower as an alternate, Richelle Lentz seconded the nomination – nominations closed – passed.

Alternates listed in order to move up to delegate if needed: AnnMarie Wubbeling Valerie Gates Glenda Neuenschwander Cynthia Palmreuter Dave Prout MacGregor Bower

Dave Prout nominated Jean Prout to be elevated as a Precinct Delegate for Crystal Township Kodeen Sowers seconded the motion – passed.

Chair asking for a motion to adjourn - David Prout made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Jerry Fennell

County Convention Adjourned 7:37 At 7:46 PM the regular meeting of the Montcalm County Republicans Executive Committee was called to order by Chair Matt Murray.

Motion made by Richelle Lentz to amend the minutes from the November County Convention, seconded by Rhonda Bishop.

An amendment was made to add many members that were not included on the original roll call. Dawn Sweet was elevated as a Precinct Delegate – originally left off the minutes.

Richelle Lintz rescinded the original motion – and made a motion to accept the minutes as amended. Maxine Nauta seconded the motion – passed.

Richelle Lintz made motion to accept the minutes including the regular meeting held in November, seconded by Stephanie Rectenwal - passed.

Judy Emmons presented over the Oath of Office for 2023-2024 officers of the Montcalm Executive Committee.

<u>REPORT FROM OFFICERS</u>:

Chair: Matt Murray – expressed a desire to bring unity to the Executive Committee in all we do for 2023-2024. **Vice Chair:** Stephanie Rectenwal reported that the Montcalm Commissioners meeting would be 2nd Monday of the month at 4:00PM; 4th Monday of the month now moving to 6:00 PM. Requested that as many members attend monthly to be informed and support when needed. **Secretary:** No report

Treasurer: Judy Emmons gave report of December expenses. Balance 4,724.78 in regular account; 916.24 in administrative account as of January 26, 2023

<u>COMMITTEE REPORTS:</u> No committees at this time.

New Business:

Richelle Lintz made a motion to establish a research committee that would investigate creating an Ethnic and Minority Vice Chair as well as a Youth Vice Chair. Steve T. seconded the motion.

Stephanie Rectenwal amended the motion to call the Ethnic and Minority Vice Chair an Outreach Vice Chair. Amended motion - Passed.

The following formed the committee to research and report back in the February meeting: Cindy Palmreuter Jerry Fennell Dave Prout

Motion to accept 4 new committees for 2023-2024 by Stephanie Rectenwal Seconded by Dave Prout - Passed

Administrative Committee (Bi-laws and Budget)

- Rhonda Bishop
- Shayne Becker
- Mary Nauta
- Stephanie Rectenwal
- Steve Tanner

Fundraising and Events Committee

Recruitment and Education

Social Media and PR

Discussion around the possibility of having to find a new meeting location for monthly meetings.

Old Business: Nothing at this time.

<u>UPDATE FROM ELECTED OFFICIALS</u>: Nothing at this time.

Member Comment:

Dues – need to write a check or money order for membership dues.

Adjourned Motion to adjourn by Kim Croy, seconded by Dave Prout.

Respectfully submitted, Lisa Coughlin - Secretary